Welcome

Hello, I’m Charles Mahood and I attend Truman State University. About a year and a half ago in March of 2016, I performed my first set of stand-up comedy. Since then I’ve had my ups and downs with stand-up. Like any comic I have my experiences of having the crowd with you one night, but not being able to grab onto anyone’s attention the next. While this is probably the most noticeable dilemma for many comedians, other, more specific, issues stick out in my mind as well. For instance, I can perform well in a show and get a lot of laughs, but seeing footage of myself afterwards can negate any positive feelings I have. Seeing myself perform can turn what seemed to be a good night into an uncomfortable memory. Another example would be seeing other comedians come to Truman and have rough nights, almost solely due to them not knowing how to speak to that particular audience. It’s amazing how much going from town to town (or even building to building) can affect how a comedian is received. Doing comedy, whether it’s stand-up, improve, or sketch/video, involves non-stop adjustments and creativity in many ways to either become funny or to maintain a high level of audience enthusiasm. This blog aims to discuss issues related to comedy in college and the adjustments that need to be made to handle them. It will also allow me some opportunities to write some of my own advice or information, which may or may not be useful.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑